9th Annual assembly
Luis Atienza, reappointed to the Board of Directors ENTSO-E

The Chairman of Red Eléctrica de España, Luis Atienza, has been reappointed to the Board of Directors of ENTSO-E, the association which brings together 41 European TSO's, operators and owners of the electricity transmission grids in the European Union. This reappointment, for a period of two years, took place within the framework of the 9th Annual assembly of the association, held in Vilna (Lithuania).

The European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity, ENTSO-E, was founded on 27 June 2008 by recommendation of the European Parliament, in order to promote the cooperation in the field of electricity within the European Union. The association is made up of 41 TSO?s belonging to 34 countries. The Board of Directors is formed by twelve representatives, who are responsible for implementing the decisions made at the Assembly.

The main activities of the association are geared towards coordinating the development of an interconnected, secure and environmentally sustainable European electricity transmission system, whilst facilitating the transparent competition within the internal energy market. Additionally, taking into consideration the European objectives for the reduction of emissions, ENTSO-E plays a crucial role in the integration of renewable energy under secure conditions.

As the representative for the area of the Iberian peninsula on this Board of Directors, the work of the Chairman of Red Eléctrica will concentrate mainly on reinforcing the promotion of regional initiatives within the Iberian Electricity Market, the development of the interconnections and addressing the challenges posed by the European energy policy, especially those referring to the integration of renewable energy into the electricity system.